Who We Are

Echoes of Women in Africa Initiative is a Nigerian non profit, non
governmental women human rights organization promoting peace
security for African Women and Girls.  ECOWA engages stakeholders in
monitoring compliance to international, regional and national policies on
the protection of women and girl’s rights in conflict including their
participation in peace processes. This organization was founded in 2010
and formerly registered in May 2011 with the Nigerian Corporate Affairs
Commission (RC 44955)

Our Mission Statement and Purpose
ECOWA’s Mission is to work non violently for peace, security of women
for practical solutions to development, ECOWA also inform, mobilise,
organise and engage on issues violence against women and girls in the
home and community and working to:
  • Ensure the protection of female victims/ survivors in conflict.
  • Conflict Prevention, Resolution/ Reconciliation.
  • Peace Building

Our Strategies include:
Preventing violence through public outreach and awareness raising,
capacity building, creating opportunities for women to exercise social,
economic political rights and influencing traditional practices, behavioral
change, strengthening institutional response and implementation on
policies, media campaign, research, monitoring documentation and
advocacy.  Others are: coalition building at the local, state, national,
regional and international levels; support for the provision of community-
based, non-violent alternatives – such as  shelter programs – IDPS,
battered women and eradication of social, cultural and religious systems
which contribute to violence against women and girls. .

Our focus  Areas are:  
Human Rights, Women and girls, Peace and Security, Non violence,
Women Economic and Political Empowerment, IDPs, Democracy and
Secured Environment.

Our Structure
ECOWA Initiative has an nine member board of trustees seven of whom
are women who play advisory roles:  Col David Anto, Dr Sam Ogbeide,
Mrs Bridget Osakwe, Mrs Itoro Eze-Ababa, Niss Kate Duru, Mrs Yetunde
Oladeinde, Mrs Yinka Iziren, Miss Emmanuella Ogbeide and Mrs Louisa
Ono Eikhomun.

Staff  who carry on with daily management of the office are:
Louisa Ono Eikhomun            Executive Director
Catherine Duru                        Senior Programme Officer
Barrister W. Imaralu                 Legal Officer
Peace James                           Programme Officer
Debby Oboh                            Volunteer
Isaac Oluwafisayo Ajayi            Volunteer

Membership Organisation
  • West Africa Peace Building Network (WANEP)
  • African Women Network on Water and Sanitation
  • Coalition on Affirmative Action( NCAA)
  • Human Rights Agenda Network ( HRAN)
  • CEDAW Coalition

Partnerships and Collaboration
•        Group of( G6) Beijing+20.
•        Federal Ministry of Women Affairs
•        Lagos State Ministry of The Environment
•        Nigerian Police Force
•        Women Arise for Change Initiative
•        Legal Defence  and  Assisted Projects( LEDAP)
•        Partnership for Justice
•        Idea Builders
•        Vision Spring Initiatives
•        Equality Now
Promoting Peace and Security for African Women and Girls